Blog Index
The journal that this archive was targeting has been deleted. Please update your configuration.


Parish Pastoral Councils (PPCs) grew out of Vatican II. In 1989, it became the policy of the Archdiocese of Chicago that every parish in the Archdiocese have a Parish Pastoral Council. OLV Pastoral Council is based on the mission statement of OLV and is structured in accordance with the Archdiocese of Chicago Parish Pastoral Council Norms.

The Council exercises shared responsibility for the pastoral life of the parish, with an emphasis on its primary role of carrying out the parish’s spiritual mission, under the leadership of Fr. Michael Wyrzykowski.  The four basic responsibilities of the Council are:

  •   to research the needs, the ideas and the hopes of the faith community;
  •   to encourage and support existing ministries;
  •   to evaluate the quality of life in the parish faith community;
  •   to plan for the parish’s future by recommending policies, procedures, and programs that will
      implement its values and fulfill the Church’s mission.

Fr. Robert and the Council work together in making decisions after prayerful discernment, study and discussion. The Council has structured the faith life of OLV into four Pillars (commissions) which are composed of the parish ministries and organizations:

Spiritual Life / Formation (Catholic education) / Human Concerns / Parish Life.

The commissions are accountable to the Council and are to act in accord within its policies. Within such policies, the commissioners are free to operate in their own legitimate competencies.

The Council is composed of members of the parish pastoral staff and members of the parish and is presided over by Fr. Michael Wyrzykowski

Jessica Contreras, President

Deacon Mike Ahern

Deacon Bob Leck

Mary Beth Frystak, Religious Education Director

Joanne Leck

Jennifer Draper

Michael Brogan

Noreen Bubalo

Annette Baase

Stan Banasik

Peggy Sexton